1. Escape from Freedom

    Erich Fromm

    1. Ebooks make great gifts! Purchase this ebook as a gift and you can:
      • Personalize it: Include a message along with your gift.
      • Schedule it: Email your gift and set an auto-deliver date so it arrives at just the right time.
        OR
      • Hand-deliver it: Use the print option during checkout to give this ebook the old-fashioned way.
      Select a participating retailer:
    Why do people choose authoritarianism over freedom? The classic study of the psychological appeal of fascism by a New York Times–bestselling author.
    The pursuit of freedom has indelibly marked Western culture since Renaissance humanism and Protestantism began the fight for individualism and self-determination. This freedom, however, can make people feel unmoored, and is often accompanied by feelings of isolation, fear, and the loss of self, all leading to a desire for authoritarianism, conformity, or destructiveness. It is not only the question of freedom that makes Fromm’s debut book a timeless classic. In this examination of the roots of Nazism and fascism in Europe, Fromm also explains how economic and social constraints can also lead to authoritarianism.

    By the author of The Sane Society and The Anatomy of Human Destructiveness, this is a fascinating examination of the anxiety that underlies our darkest impulses, an enlightening volume perfect for readers of Eric Hoffer or Hannah Arendt.
    This ebook features an illustrated biography of Erich Fromm including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.
  2. Pub Date
    03/26/2013
    Publisher
    Open Road Integrated Media
    ISBN13
    9781480402010
    Format
    Ebook
    Category
    Social Science

Editorial Reviews

  • “An analysis par excellence of our cultural neurosis.” —The Nation

  • “An important and challenging work.” —New York Herald Tribune

  • “Fromm’s thought merits the critical attention of all concerned with the human condition and its future.” —The Washington Post

About the author

Erich Fromm

Erich Fromm (1900–1980) was a bestselling psychoanalyst and social philosopher whose views about alienation, love, and sanity in society—discussed in his books such as Escape from Freedom, The Art of Loving, The Sane Society, and To Have or To Be?—helped shape the landscape of psychology in the mid-twentieth century. In the 1930s he was one of the most influential figures at the Frankfurt Institute of Social Research.