1. Horses Make a Landscape Look More Beautiful


    Alice Walker

    1. Ebooks make great gifts! Purchase this ebook as a gift and you can:
      • Personalize it: Include a message along with your gift.
      • Schedule it: Email your gift and set an auto-deliver date so it arrives at just the right time.
      • Hand-deliver it: Use the print option during checkout to give this ebook the old-fashioned way.
      Select a participating retailer:
    In Alice Walker’s fourth collection of poetry, simple observations from a life well lived balance an unflinching examination of critical global worries
    The title of this collection comes from a Native American shaman who, reflecting on the terrible problems brought by white colonizers, nearly forgave them all because with the settlers came horses to the North American Plains. And, indeed, in these poems we find Alice Walker seeking a saving grace even in the most difficult circumstances, and in the hearts of the most brutal oppressors. Here Walker’s attention turns toward the small moments and subliminal exchanges between lovers and enemies, even as her verse addresses concerns as vast as the choking of the planet by war and pollution.
    This ebook features an illustrated biography of Alice Walker including rare photos from the author’s personal collection.
  2. Pub Date
    Open Road Integrated Media

Editorial Reviews

  • “In the tradition of Whitman, Walker sings, celebrates, and agonizes over the ordinary vicissitudes that link and separate all of human-kind” —Sonia Gernes

  • “This book has two fine strengths—a music that comes along sometimes . . . and Walker’s own tragicomic gifts.” —The New York Times Book Review

Community reviews

Good Reads

More by Alice Walker

About the author

Alice Walker

Alice Walker (b. 1944), one of the United States’ preeminent writers, is an award-winning author of novels, stories, essays, and poetry. In 1983, Walker became the first African-American woman to win a Pulitzer Prize for fiction with her novel The Color Purple, which also won the National Book Award. Her other books include The Third Life of Grange Copeland, Meridian, The Temple of My Familiar, and Possessing the Secret of Joy. In her public life, Walker has worked to address problems of injustice, inequality, and poverty as an activist, teacher, and public intellectual.


Photo by Pratibha Parmar (c) Kali Films Ltd.