1. Mr Wrong

    Elizabeth Jane Howard

    1. Ebooks make great gifts! Purchase this ebook as a gift and you can:
      • Personalize it: Include a message along with your gift.
      • Schedule it: Email your gift and set an auto-deliver date so it arrives at just the right time.
      • Hand-deliver it: Use the print option during checkout to give this ebook the old-fashioned way.
      Select a participating retailer:
    A short story anthology of thrills, chills, and the impulses and longings that drive us, from the bestselling author of the Cazalet Chronicles.

    In this dazzling collection, author Elizabeth Jane Howard mines the rich terrain of the heart with her trademark wit and style, as well as a Hitchcockian dose of spine-tingling suspense.

    In “Pont du Gard,” a man on holiday with his sixteen-year-old daughter and her best friend gets his comeuppance when he confesses his infidelities to his long-suffering wife, and in Howard’s masterly hands, the seduction of the naïve, betrothed Englishwoman of “Toutes Directions” by a worldly Frenchman is fresh, tender, and liberating.

    In another story, a twelve-year-old child star plots how to get the “Whip Hand” over her monstrous mother, while the effects of a family patriarch dying on Christmas day are shown through the shifting perspectives of his loved ones, including a loyal servant, in “The Devoted.” And in the hair-raising, hallucinatory title story, a young woman moves to London to satisfy her mother’s desire for her to meet her soul mate—only to encounter a menacing stranger who gives terrifying new meaning to the finding of Mr. Right.

    In these and other tales, Howard proves once again that she is a master of the subtle, revealing domestic detail. Featuring wronged spouses, stalkers, and men and women falling in and out of love, the nine stories in this haunting collection skew our perceptions and reality while brimming with emotion that is at once unique and universal.
  2. Pub Date
    Open Road Integrated Media

Editorial Reviews

  • What unmixed pleasures . . . There’s nothing tentative about these short stories which have strong, dramatic narrative as well as personal values. . . . Accomplished entertainment for the audience which once read Daphne du Maurier and now reads Elizabeth Taylor.” —Kirkus Reviews

  • “Howard has a gift . . . wry humor and elegant perceptions.” —The Guardian

  • “As polished, stylish and civilized as her many devotees would expect.” —Julian Barnes

  • “Each of these stories may be read again with real pleasure.” —The Daily Telegraph

Community reviews

Good Reads

More by Elizabeth Jane Howard

About the author

Elizabeth Jane Howard

Elizabeth Jane Howard (1923–2014) is the author of fourteen highly acclaimed novels. Her Cazalet Chronicles—The Light Years, Marking Time, Confusion, Casting Off, and All Change—are modern classics and have been adapted for BBC television and BBC Radio 4. Her autobiography, Slipstream, was published in 2002. In that same year she was named a Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire.