1. The Lady of the Sorrows

    Book 2 in The Bitterbynde Trilogy

    Cecilia Dart-Thornton

    1. Ebooks make great gifts! Purchase this ebook as a gift and you can:
      • Personalize it: Include a message along with your gift.
      • Schedule it: Email your gift and set an auto-deliver date so it arrives at just the right time.
      • Hand-deliver it: Use the print option during checkout to give this ebook the old-fashioned way.
      Select a participating retailer:
    A courageous maiden searches for her forgotten history as her king wages desperate war on malevolent creatures known as the unseelie, who are plotting the destruction of all humankind

    The newly named Lady of the Sorrows must carry important tidings to the King-Emperor of Caermelor. In her heart she longs to encounter the king’s ranger Thorn, a dark-haired warrior of bewitching beauty and unsurpassed skill. But upon reaching the royal court, she learns that the ruler and his men have gone to war against the forces of wickedness threatening the mortal realms. As the lady awaits their return, a dreadful suspicion unfolds: The brutal Lord Huon and his monstrous Wild Hunt are attacking again and again. Is she the target they seek?

    The 2nd book in the acclaimed Bitterbynde Trilogy, The Lady of the Sorrows confirms author Cecilia Dart-Thornton’s standing as a bold, fresh, and vitally important voice in fantasy fiction. Ingeniously weaving the ancient legends and folklore of the British Isles into a rich and colorful tapestry, she has created an epic work of the imagination, a uniquely unforgettable heroine, and a fantasy adventure for the ages.

  2. Pub Date
    Open Road Integrated Media

Editorial Reviews

  • “[A novel] full of mythical creatures and fair folk sure to appeal to fantasy fans.” —Publishers Weekly

  • Praise for Cecilia Dart-Thornton

  • “A new fantasy star-in-the-making.” —Jennifer Roberson, author of The Sword-Dancer Saga

  • “[Dart-Thornton is] on a par not only with her Australian contemporaries such as Sara Douglass and Garth Nix, but also with the big names further afield. . . . A very talented writer.” —SF Site

Community reviews

Good Reads


More by Cecilia Dart-Thornton

About the author

Cecilia Dart-Thornton

Cecilia Dart-Thornton is the author of numerous bestselling fantasy novels, notably the Bitterbynde Trilogy, which includes The Ill-Made Mute, The Lady of the Sorrows, and The Battle of Evernight. The daughter of an architect and an academic, Dart-Thornton holds a bachelor of arts degree and a post-graduate diploma of education from Monash University. Having started out as a schoolteacher, she became a full-time writer in 2000, after her work was "discovered" on the Internet and brought to print by a New York publishing house. She is a strong supporter of animal rights and her interests include music, the fine arts-particularly Pre-Raphaelite paintings-and edible gardening. Visit her online at www.dartthornton.com and www.leavesofgoldpress.com.