The Adulteress

The Daughters of England, Book 9

by Philippa Carr
To the world she has committed an unforgivable sin . . .
Is it possible for people to be possessed? That’s the question happily married Zipporah Ransome asks herself when she journeys from Clavering Court to her family’s ancestral home in Eversleigh. At nearby Enderby House, a mysterious place connected to her notorious grandmother Carlotta, Zipporah discovers the power of her untapped desires—and the price of their fulfillment. Enigmatic Frenchman Gerard d’Aubigné changes Zipporah’s life forever. Unable to resist his sensual charms, Zipporah embarks on an illicit affair that leaves her with a haunting secret. Soon her life begins to mirror Carlotta’s, as scandal, violence, and deception threaten to destroy her home. No one, especially not Zipporah and her daughter, will be left unscathed.

Ebooks by Philippa Carr

ABOUT Philippa Carr


    Philippa Carr (1906–1993) was one of the twentieth century’s premier authors of historical fiction. She was born Eleanor Alice Burford, in London, England. Over the course of her career, she used eight pseudonyms, including Jean Plaidy and Victoria Holt—pen names that signaled a riveting combination of superlative suspense and the royal history of the Tudors and Plantagenets. Philippa Carr was Burford’s last pseudonym, created in 1972.The Miracle at St. Bruno’s, the first novel in Carr’s acclaimed Daughters of England series, was followed by nineteen additional books. Burford died at sea on January 18, 1993. At the time of her death, there were over one hundred million copies of her books in print, and her popularity continues today. 

    Philippa Carr fue tan sólo uno de los ocho pseudónimos que Eleanor Alice Burford utilizó en su trayectoria como escritora. Burford bebió primeramente de las Brönte, George Eliot, Dickens o Tolstoi aunque, más tarde, se centró en la vida contemporánea como fuente de inspiración. Philippa Carr, su último pseudónimo, la elevó a la categoría de reina de la novela histórico-romántica. La autora recoge un compendio—Hijas de Inglaterra—de diarios ficticios escritos por mujeres de una familia y una novela independiente (publicada póstumamente) titulada Hijas de InglaterraMilagro en San Bruno (1972)—ambientado en la reforma inglesa—dio comienzo a la serie de diarios y ésta finalizó con We’ll meet again—con el trasfondo de la Segunda Guerra Mundial. Su obra toma el personaje femenino como eje absoluto de la trama y en el detalle histórico muy bien documentado; lo cual seguramente fue lo que le aportó una fama y un éxito que perduran en la actualidad.

  • published by